Monday, January 26, 2015

2015 Full Moon Calendar and Star Gazing

FULL MOON (LUNAR) CALENDAR 2015

Full moon - February 3, 2015, Tuesday
(Also in February look for Jupiter at Opposition)
February 6 — View Jupiter from the Northern and Southern hemispheres  Find a good pair of binoculars or a telescope and see Jupiter’s four largest moons: Io, Europa, Ganymede, and Callisto. 

Full moon -March 5, 2015, Thursday
March 20- look for a total solar eclipse - look for the sun's corona circling around the moon that morning. You will have to be living near Greenland and the Atlantic Ocean. NEVER look at a solar eclipse without appropriate eye protection.

Full moon -April 4, 2015, Saturday
April 4 - look for a total lunar eclipse on the same day as the full moon

Full moon -May 4, 2015, Monday
May 23 - Saturn at  Opposition - a telescope will be necessary to see Saturn's rings and largest moons. 

Full moon -June 23, 2013, Tuesday

Full moon -July 2, 2015, Thursday
July 28-29 - meteor showers from two comets, Marsden and Kracht. Look toward the Aquarius constellation. 

Full moon -July 31, 2015, Friday (Blue Moon)

Full moon - August 29, 2015, Saturday
August 12-13 Perseids Meteor Shower - the new moon on the 14th will provide dark skies to see the 60 sightings/hour. 

Full moon -September 28, 2015, Tuesday
September 1 - Neptune at Oppostion - Best day to see Neptune. Unless you have a powerful telescope or go to the Adirondack Observatory, look for a blue speck

Full moon -October 27, 2015, Tuesday

October 11 - Uranus at Opposition - Best night to view Uranus's closest approach. nless you have a powerful telescope or go to the Adirondack Observatory, look for a teal (greenish/blue) speck
October 26 - Toward the eastern sky, Venus and Jupiter will two of the brightest planets, best viewed before sunrise

Full moon -November 25, 2015, Wednesday

November 17-18 Leonids Meteor Shower - Look for meteors after midnight near the constellation Leo. 

Full moon -December 25, 2015, Friday

December 7 - Conjuncture of the Moon and Venus - Look toward the east in the early morning. it will look like Venus and Earth's moon are a few degrees away from each other.



© Diane Chase, author of Adirondack Family Time: Tri-Lakes and High Peaks (Your Four-Season Guide to Over 300 Activities) for the towns of Lake Placid, Saranac Lake, Jay/Upper Jay, Wilmington, Keene/Keene Valley which is available online or bookstores/museums/sporting good stores. Diane is currently working on the second guidebook in the four-book series of Adirondack Family Activities.

No comments: